Talk Budgies Forums

Talk Budgies Forums (https://www.talkbudgies.com/forum.php)
-   Budgie Product Reviews (https://www.talkbudgies.com/85-budgie-product-reviews/)
-   -   Air Purifier (https://www.talkbudgies.com/budgie-product-reviews/389585-air-purifier.html)

Caboose 04-14-2017 09:35 PM

Air Purifier
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hello everyone I was wondering what's everyone's opinion on this air purifier.

FaeryBee 04-14-2017 09:54 PM

HEPA air purifiers are definitely the best to purchase.
That one should be just fine.

philw 04-14-2017 11:20 PM

This one looks fine....make sure though it doesn't have a ionizing
mode.(an option on some hepa models. Hepa is fine.
I run a small IDYLIS (hepa) in my office where Steve lives and
for one little budgie, it does trap a lot of dust (bird dander) he
produces. Make sure that it's never blowing on the cage.

RavensGryf 04-15-2017 02:46 PM

Is it a Honeywell HEPA? That might be the exact one I have. Filter cartridges need to be cleaned and/or replaced often for optimal performance. Be prepared to spend additional money regularly on filter cartridges. At least the Honeywell ones are easy to find in the US. You'd be surprised how much dust birds produce! I have 2 budgies and 3 other parrots in the room, although I suspect that the budgies produce over half of the total dust. Regardless of size, Budgies are extremely dusty. I couldn't live without an air purifier.

JRS 04-16-2017 05:52 AM

I'm glad I came across this thread, as I've been looking at air purifiers lately.
Hope it's okay to tag on to your thread Bernie.
In my case it's for a small room with 1 canary and 2 budgies.

Hope someone can help answer a few questions:
So, I need to choose one with a HEPA filter and to avoid those with ionisers, is there anything else I should consider?
Does the max room size suggested tend to be for all speeds or just the fastest?
Do they make the room significantly colder?
Do you tend to have them running 24 hours, all day or other? At what speed?
Do the filters last as long as suggested or do you need to change them more frequently? - just considering ordering more at the same time.

I've been looking at this model, Buy VAX AP01 Air Purifier | VAX Official Website
Vax is a known decent make of vacuum cleaners here in the UK but I'm seeing that this is quite cheap compared to others so I'm a bit wary.

FaeryBee 04-16-2017 06:38 AM

There are many things to consider when buying an air-purifier and it's good to do as much research as possible to determine what one will best suit your needs.

When buying an air purifier, ensure you are careful to avoid any with ionizers as they are unsafe to use with your birds.
Electrostatic air purifiers Can produce secondary pollution such as ozone and other gases and I would recommend avoiding those as well.

HEPA is an acronym that stands for High Efficiency Particulate Air. This is a pleated filter that traps airborne particles as they pass through an air purifier. A true HEPA filter removes 99.97% of all particles that are 0.3 microns in size or larger. This is known as the HEPA standard.

I have the Honeywell 50250 (HEPA Air Purifier) which I run in my bedroom on the lowest setting 24/7.

Honeywell 50250 HEPA Air Purifier

The pre-filter is changed every three months.
(The unit has a light which comes on when it's time to change the filter)

The unit definitely clears a great deal of dust from the air in the room (as evidenced by the filter when it is changed)

The only problem with the unit I have is the size -- it is round and rather cumbersome which can be difficult to accommodate space-wise.

I don't notice a significant cooling of the air in the room from the air-purifier although if you are right next to it you can feel cooler air being emitted from the unit.
I make sure not to place it too close to the bird's cages.

Best Air Purifier Buying Guide - Consumer Reports

Air Purifier Ratings

JRS 04-16-2017 08:21 AM

Thanks Deborah

That helps a lot!

RavensGryf 04-17-2017 04:34 PM

JRS, I have Honeywell 050 which works well for a large bedroom. It was under $100 for a well known trusted brand. I have 2 budgies and 3 parrots in there, and it gets clogged super fast, and the pre-filter needs to be replaced (or taken out and cleaned) about monthly, but I'm bad about doing that lol. Even when it's clogged I can still tell the air quality is better than if I didn't have anything.

I keep mine on the high setting. Usually I turn it down to medium when I sleep because I find it's a little noisy. Sometimes I forget to turn it back up and it stays on medium. I do find that when the filter is newly changed and the unit is dusted out, it runs a bit quieter.

This model does blow the clean air out from the side, so I have to be mindful about placement of the unit and careful not to point it directly at a cage because of the draft. That's one thing about this model that is kind of a pain. Overall it works fine. I've had it for a few years now, and I notice it squeaks sometimes. I'm not sure how long they're supposed to last.

damag 04-24-2017 01:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by philw (Post 3988969)
This one looks fine....make sure though it doesn't have a ionizing
mode.(an option on some hepa models. Hepa is fine.
I run a small IDYLIS (hepa) in my office where Steve lives and
for one little budgie, it does trap a lot of dust (bird dander) he
produces. Make sure that it's never blowing on the cage.



I'm so thankful that this thread was created. I had my concerns about air purifiers too


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote:

Originally Posted by FaeryBee (Post 3989769)
There are many things to consider when buying an air-purifier and it's good to do as much research as possible to determine what one will best suit your needs.

When buying an air purifier, ensure you are careful to avoid any with ionizers as they are unsafe to use with your birds.
Electrostatic air purifiers Can produce secondary pollution such as ozone and other gases and I would recommend avoiding those as well.

HEPA is an acronym that stands for High Efficiency Particulate Air. This is a pleated filter that traps airborne particles as they pass through an air purifier. A true HEPA filter removes 99.97% of all particles that are 0.3 microns in size or larger. This is known as the HEPA standard.

I have the Honeywell 50250 (HEPA Air Purifier) which I run in my bedroom on the lowest setting 24/7.

Honeywell 50250 HEPA Air Purifier

The pre-filter is changed every three months.
(The unit has a light which comes on when it's time to change the filter)

The unit definitely clears a great deal of dust from the air in the room (as evidenced by the filter when it is changed)

The only problem with the unit I have is the size -- it is round and rather cumbersome which can be difficult to accommodate space-wise.

I don't notice a significant cooling of the air in the room from the air-purifier although if you are right next to it you can feel cooler air being emitted from the unit.
I make sure not to place it too close to the bird's cages.

Best Air Purifier Buying Guide - Consumer Reports

Air Purifier Ratings



Thank you for all the information shared ! You have help me a lot !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2000- 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2006 - , 2403 Networks LLC. All rights reserved.