Talk Budgies Forums

Talk Budgies Forums (https://www.talkbudgies.com/forum.php)
-   Housing for Budgies (https://www.talkbudgies.com/48-housing-budgies/)
-   -   Opinions on new cage (https://www.talkbudgies.com/housing-budgies/405600-opinions-new-cage.html)

EJL 05-12-2019 07:50 PM

Opinions on new cage
 
1 Attachment(s)
So I combined two large cages to make one big one and I would like to know if you think it is large enough for four budgies. I have two male and two female. I would also like to ask your thoughts on why the two females peck at the two males alot and peck at each other alot. Is this normal for an even number of budgies to do.

Below is a photo of the two cages I have combined for the four budgies

FaeryBee 05-12-2019 10:21 PM

Yes, the two cages are large enough for four budgies.
I cannot tell from the picture how you have them combined. How do the birds get from one cage into the other?

You say the females peck at the males and at one another. Is it over perches, food dishes or just in general?
Have they all been together long?

https://www.talkbudgies.com/articles...ous-flock.html


RavensGryf 05-12-2019 10:57 PM

I’m also curious to see how you’ve joined the two cages. That looks like a nestbox on the left side. It’s never a good idea to let a random bunch of budgies breed, and this forum doesn’t condone it. Please remove the nestbox. Sorry, if I didn’t say it, someone else would have. To get the idea why we say this, please look into the Stickies in the breeding section of the forum, and read the information we have there. Also, click on the black and white announcement banner here near the top of the page. This is for all of our members. Thanks :).

EJL 05-13-2019 06:56 AM

All the pecking done by the females is just in general over everything. They all have enough of everything though. The way the cage is combined and they get from one to the other is the bigger cage has 3 doors on each side so I took one of those off. Then I cut a door size hole in the other cage. I also made a sliding door over the hole so I could close it if I want to separate the cage. Then I just made two clips out of two pieces of flat stainless steel. Also the two females have Ben together since I got them. The two males I just recently introduced to the females after there quarantine was done.

FaeryBee 05-13-2019 08:35 AM

I didn't see that nest box when I first looked at the picture. I also see something in the smaller cage as well.

You need to remove any and all nest boxes or places that could be used as nesting sites immediately.

It is very important that you be a responsible owner and do everything necessary to discourage breeding. This is even more important since you have aggressive personality tendencies in your females.


A Heartfelt Plea to All Members
Guidance regarding Breeding Advice Threads

Rearranging their cage frequently, and limiting the light they get to 8 hours a day will help tremendously. Please be sure you never put a nest box or anything that could be used as a nesting site in their cage.

When they come into condition, limit the amount of protein in their diet at that time.

I would like to see close-up pictures of how the cages are connected. When you post full-sized pictures rather than thumbnails makes it easier for others to actually see the details in the photos. :)

When you upload pictures as attachments directly from your computer, tablet or phone, the forum automatically defaults to landscape. Additionally, the picture appears as what we term a “thumbnail” attachment.

To upload full-sized pictures with the proper orientation, please use a photo-sharing service such as Imgur and follow the steps in these instructions:
How to Post Full Size Pictures from a Photo Sharing Site
You can practice uploading pictures in the site’s “Test Forum:
Test Forum

EJL 05-13-2019 03:07 PM

I have taken your advice and removed the nest box and the hanging basket in the other cage. I have also since separated the cages and put the two females in the larger cage and the two males in the smaller cage. I have left the two cages next to each other so they all can talk and see each other. Hopefully my two females will be happier in the larger cage by themselves.

EJL 05-13-2019 04:36 PM

Also I would like to know if it would be ok to put the nest box on the cage that the two males are in for them to play in if they want to.

FaeryBee 05-13-2019 10:02 PM

No, it is best not to have a nest box on the cage with the males. There are plenty of toys you can choose for them. :)

I'm glad to hear you've separated your budgies by gender. Well done!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2000- 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2006 - , 2403 Networks LLC. All rights reserved.