Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Olivia & i have been breeding for 6 years but rarely post, in our first year we bought 6 birds from different farms etc, one of those birds was Dazzle a beautiful blue male with blue spider wings & no black on wing tips, he pared with a yellow and green in Colony breeding for a couple of seasons in the 2nd year 2 of the babies were latinos we sold one and kept one for breeding (Ginger) she produced many nice babies over 3 seasons to which we now have great great grandchildren using a couple of separate breeding boxes along with the avery to avoid inbreeding, Dazzle went on to a blue female for 2011 & 2012 and it was then we discovered he had the albino gene as we got 2 albinos, last year we had such a good year we realised we had way too many birds, i sold and gave away all but 18. This spring we are just breeding in the 2 separate boxes, i will try to post pics from my ipad, in one box Frosty an albino (Dazzles daughter) is pared with a blue male with a yellow head (Stackhat) to my surprise when Olivia and i cleaned the cage today we put the 5 babies in a shoe box, they just have feathers showing, 2 have the red eyes,1 albino but the other must have picked up the yellow gene from Stackhat and is Latino, i would find it interesting to know what % of the gene is in each bird as in six years we have bred 3 Latinos & 3 Albinos, 2 of each through Dazzle and now one of each in the same nest through Dazzles Daughter Frosty.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,247 Posts
The yellow red-eyed baby is not a Lutino, it'll be a Yellowface Albino (sometimes called Creamino).