Talk Budgies Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening,
So we have two babies hatched from yesterday and now today. Should I removed the empty shells?
I’m completely new to this.

·
Administrator
55,088 Posts
You may remove the egg shells when the hen is out of the nest box to eat or eliminate waste. Make sure you wash your hands VERY well before putting them in the nest box and avoid bothering the hatched chicks.
Are there more eggs in the nest that have not yet hatched?
How much research have you done prior to allowing your budgie pair to breed?
If you have not done so, I highly recommend you read all of the stickies at the top of the Budgie Breeding section of the forum.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You may remove the egg shells when the hen is out of the nest box to eat or eliminate waste. Make sure you wash your hands VERY well before putting them in the nest box and avoid bothering the hatched chicks.
Are there more eggs in the nest that have not yet hatched?
If you have not done so, I highly recommend you read all of the stickies at the top of the Budgie Breeding section of the forum.
still 5 eggs left to hatch.
truthfully I was told “Just put Mom and dad together, they do it all.” This is obviously not the case the more I look into it. And I will be diving head first into research tonight.

Truthfully as I dive more into this I realize I should have done much more research prior to allowing this. But what’s done is done and I can only do better from here so I will be utilizing those stickies as soon as I get off work.

Appreciate it! I did want to ask a few quick questions before I head to work.

How often do you recommend checking nest for hatched chicks and health of them?

do I clean the next box at all? Or wait till chicks are out?

also am I able to handle the chicks at all at a certain age or do I just leave them alone ?

·
Administrator
55,088 Posts