Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So the male, i am not completely sure if he is actually opaline. but it looks like it to me(i am no professional though!!)
He is blue based, no pied but possible split(white around vent?)
The male also looks to be split to violet(if it is possible) He has a very dark violet colored patch on his chest, and tail.

The female though, Oh my god she is beautiful! she is NOT a green budgie though. Unless she is severely diluted!
I believe she is a yellowface2 blue, She is very light seagreen almost, but it is bluish green this is what leads me to believe she is yellowface2 because of the green tint to her.
She also has these VERY silvery fawn/cinnamon type markings where it would be black. All of her body shows these, there isn't a black marking on her! she is very diluted but not pied as far as i know.

Can anyone help me out? i will try to find a picture of what she looks like, she is my neighbors bird and i am getting one of the chicks(6 eggs two pinkies already!) and i would like to know mutation outcomes. Any help? can anyone tell me what splits would look like? I am new to budgies

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
What Mutations would the babies be? will they be split to yellowface if possible? what do splits look like?
sorry for all the questions!

·
Member of the Month January 2009
3,676 Posts
Without a photo so we can see the correct mutations proper predictions can't be made.

Just a couple of points:

Budgies cannot be split for violet

Blue budgies cannot be split for yellow face

Split means a mutation that is in the genes but is not visible so the only way to know if it is there is from breeding records

·
Registered
1,484 Posts