Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello people,

Recently i noticed my budgie having an itchier head than usual.
After a little more inspecting i found out that on the left to his beak there is a small opening inbetween the feathers and his beak and it looks like there is a tiny lump there.

Since my budgie is not ready to just get on my hand yet i can't inspect it closer than from the outside of my cage and it's not the same on the other side of the beak so i don't think it's symmetrical (i can't see it)

It's skin colored so i thought it might be a feather coming through since the skin looks visible there but i'm afraid it might be something else.

My budgie is not even a year old so i hope he's alright but he's also my first bird so i hope i didn't do anything wrong to him.

Thank you for your help. :budgie:

·
Registered
533 Posts
Praying everything will be OK for your budgie...sorry I am not an expert in these matters...someone will have a possible answer for you...could you get a photo of the lump at all ? ...and Welcome

Reactions: Jo Ann and Jonah

·
Exceptional Service Award Recipient
21,707 Posts
Welcome to the forums! :)
I agree that a photo showing the whole beak area would be very helpful.
From your description it is possible your budgie may have scaly face mites and this can be easily solved with Ivermectin spot on treatment where you apply a drop of the product on the back of the neck and directly into the skin.
Depending on the severity of the case, multiple treatments may be needed.
You'd also have to wash and disinfect the whole cage and accessories (perches, food and water containers, toys, etc) to prevent to mites from coming back.

·
Member of the Year 2016//Exceptional Service Award
4,333 Posts
Budgie