Talk Budgies Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time owning birds, so I'm pretty inexperienced and need some help. Desperately.

I have a troubled budgie... I've had her (Grell) and her male flockmate (Ban) for a little over 2 years now. Grell started plucking about a year ago and, as of a few months ago, started picking at her skin. I've been taking her to the vet, to which, in the end, the doctors really don't know whether it's mites, allergies?, or behavioral. She's been a little off since day one. I noticed it the moment she was being caught in the aviary, and I'm sure our rough start getting her into her cage didn't help. We have made some progress, but I feel like the little amount I'm able to do after this long is rather shameful. A lot of that is my fault. Once I started college and going to work, I've since been finding myself having a hard time keeping up with giving them attention. Ban was fine. He's not troubled like Grell, so he just flits and flirts without a care in the world (though he doesn't really trust me anymore).

Grell just got progressively worse, as it's become painfully clear. It's been really hard getting her to trust me, particularly after having to force her into a carrier to get her to the vet. I've attempted to fix my sleep schedule, give my birds more entertainment, training, toys, supplements, reading, foraging, etc. I tried cartoons for when I'm gone long hours, which seemed to work for a little while. Nobody else in the house is either able or stable enough to walk in and help take care of them anymore.

Foraging, bathing, target training, talking - they're only temporary pleasures for her. As for the budgies together, they don't really do much for bonding. They will be with each other for the most part and fly around my room, but Grell just seems to lack motivation in general. I don't think she's entirely fond of Ban as her friend, either.