Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi there,

I arrived on the boards the other day - awesome community you guys have going here, really useful information :)

I recently acquired two young budgies, siblings, but I'm stumped on mutations. Also genders. I got as far as "recessive pied... something?" for both, and that's just a guess. I need an expert!

(Sorry about blurriness, tried to get a few without flash for colour identification purposes)

Please help!

Cirrus:

Katsura/Ginkgo/Hickory/Walnut/???:

(Also, aww :))

Thanks again

Edit: to say they are between two and three months old

·
Senior Budgie
3,973 Posts
They are so cute!
I'm not good at mutations.
But i'd love to say THEY ARE CUTE TOGETHER.
One has all their wittle baby bars.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks xbudgieloverx :) They are very cute together, although they sure know how to make a racket when they squabble. Siblings! :p

I like that the shape of their markings on their torsos and tails and heads kind of match, while everything else is so different. I think that's cute haha

·
Registered
458 Posts
Cirrus is a female Cobalt Recessive Pied.
Katsura I'm not sure about...A Light Green Opaline Recessive Pied Greywing? And looks male too. :)
They are so pretty by the way. :)

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Jen144,

Thanks so much!

I wondered about the greywing mutation... it's hard to tell what they are, especially with his flight feathers clipped! But the flights look like they might be a lighter colour, too. Also I was confused because I heard that greywings were supposed to have a generally diluted body colour? I don't know.

Brother and sister, eh? No wonder they're always bickering ;)

·
Registered
1,484 Posts