Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just wondering about the colour variations I could expect if my budgies were to mate. Unfortunately I have no idea what their parents looked like, since I purchased them from a petshop. I am not sure if it is possible to find this out.

Thanks in advance for any info.:budgie:

Attachments

·
Member of the Month April 2011
5,435 Posts
I'm still learning about mutations. Do you mind if I hazard some guesses until an expert comes along?

The **** bird is a recessive pied dark green (one dark factor). The hen is a normal sky blue (no dark factors).

Green is dominant to blue. Therefore, if the **** bird is not split for blue, then all chicks will be green (dark green or light green). If the **** bird is split for blue, then 50% of the chicks will be green (dark green or light green) and 50% will be blue (cobalt or sky blue).

Normal is dominant to recessive pied. Therefore, if the hen is not split for recessive pied, then all the chicks will be normals. If the hen is split for recessive pied, then 50% of the chicks will be normals split for recessive pied and 50% will be recessive pied.

Now I'll wait for the experts to correct any mistakes I've made ... :p

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm still learning about mutations. Do you mind if I hazard some guesses until an expert comes along?

The **** bird is a recessive pied dark green (one dark factor). The hen is a normal sky blue (no dark factors).

Green is dominant to blue. Therefore, if the **** bird is not split for blue, then all chicks will be green (dark green or light green). If the **** bird is split for blue, then 50% of the chicks will be green (dark green or light green) and 50% will be blue (cobalt or sky blue).