Talk Budgies Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm Destiny! I'm new on this forum and I'm also a first-time budgie owner. Up until now, I've had 6 rabbits, but this is my first time owning a pair of budgies. I have a green budgie named Mango and a blue one named Boba. I cleaned their cage the third day we brought them home because there was poop everywhere, but I realized after I put them back into their new, clean cage, Boba's bottom side was covered in wet, sticky poop. Since she wasn't really used to me yet, I gave her millet through the cage bars and she clung onto the side of the cage, giving me access to cleaning her bottom with a wet Q-tip. I got most of it off, but then a few days later, her bottom was all covered again. I'm not exactly sure of the terminology of what to call this, but through some short research, I found out that stress pooping can also be called venting (I think). It's been a few weeks now and I've just constantly been cleaning her bottom and the cycle happens over and over again. Now she's more comfortable with me and my vet suggested that I trim the feathers near her vent, and that helped a bit, but once they grew back in, it was all covered in poop. I showed the pictures to my vet and at first, she asked if there were any mites down there because in the photo, it looks almost like maggots, but that's just matted fur before I cleaned her vent. I'll attach a photo of what it looks like when it's dirty. Does anybody have this problem or know what to do? Is this a really extreme case or is it mild? Thank you so much, I really appreciate the help!

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
3,850 Posts