Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10,242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
A long time ago, I asked about Frankie and the mutation, and I cannot remember what she is. I think recessive pied or something like that. Anyway, I think it's a girl, but her cere is still light purple with some white around the nostrils( depending on the light), even after the molt. What is her cere supposed to be like at this point ( I think she is older than six months now for sure) considerting her mutation?
Here is the most recent picture:
Also, what is really confusing me is that she is a really good singer and bobs her head a lot, lol. So, I am confused....

Attachments

·
Registered
151 Posts
Hi I'm not really an expert but i would say that she is a he because in the pic the cere looks more pink than brown.

But I could b completely wrong but im sure someone will be along who would know for sure
Craig

·
Registered
702 Posts
I'm not much help, but to me from this picture Frankie looks like a boy. I don't know much about mutations, but I do know that every bird is different. My boy Charlie is well past 6 months and his cere (although I've been told it will or could turn blue) is still a dark pink with some purple coloration in it. While my female, Orion, who is probably about a year old by now, has a cere that is still white with light blue near the edges.

I'd say your best bet is analyzing her behavior. I see you have 3 other budgies, so maybe compare her to them. Both my birds are excellent singers, but my male will sing constantly and my female will only sing when she's settling in for a nap. A good singer doesn't necessarily mean a boy. And head bobbing means your bird is happy, no matter the gender :)

I'm sure one of our mutation experts will be along to add their advice, and they know better then I do!

·
Registered
10,242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
:eek: