Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would you say these are?
Chick #1 I believe is a colbalt opaline greywing?

Chick # 2 it is a grey purple color? I am stumped

Chick #3 it is a darker grey color...stumped again?

Chick # 4 Sky Blue normal...right?

Here is a link to the parents with pictures of them
http://talkbudgies.com/showthread.php?t=81497

·
Member of the Month April 2011
5,435 Posts
This is what Nev said about the chicks' parents:
Greywing cobalt hen. I can see nothing that indicates violet
Normal sky blue ****
Chicks 1 and 2 look like opaline greywing cobalts, which means the Dad must be split to opaline and greywing.
Chick #2 cannot have the grey color-adding factor because neither parent is grey.
Chick #3 is also greywing cobalt. I think it's a normal because the down is grey whereas opaline down is white.
Chick #4 is normal sky blue like Dad.

Since I'm not a mutations expert, you should wait for the experts to come along to confirm or correct my answers.

But I don't need an expert to confirm your chicks are adorable! :loveeyes:

·
DEACTIVATED ACCOUNT
16,073 Posts
Chick 1 Cobalt Opaline Grey wing

Chick 2 is a mauve Opaline grey wing

Chick 3 is also Mauve Opaline Grey wing

Chick 4 Sky blue

Do you Colony breed?? if not then both parents have a dark factor in order to get Mauve's 2 and 3 are not cobalt the're too "grey" even their cheek patches are grey/silver which is how you tell a grey from a Mauve(mauve's have blue cheek patches Greys have grey/silver) - but they can't be grey because neither parent has the Grey factor

·
Member of the Month April 2011
5,435 Posts
Chick 1 Cobalt Opaline Grey wing

Chick 2 is a mauve Opaline grey wing

Chick 3 is also Mauve Opaline Grey wing

Chick 4 Sky blue