Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Zulu is one of my new budgie babies. I'm wondering if you could help me figure out what mutation he/she is. I'm wondering if possibly he is a rainbow, but I don't think so because I'm guessing it's a greywing. But I'm a noob with mutations, so I dunno!!! My possible guess is Type 2 yellowface sky blue greywing opaline? Wow, that's a mouthful! Anyway, let me know what you think this baby's mutation is and if it is a hen or ****. Thanks again, I really appreciate it!

·
Budgie
1,430 Posts
It looks to be a male. did you use flash in the photos?

He looks like a Yellow face type 2, greywing, opaline, sky blue. Very pretty. Looks like mine but female. Very pretty boy you have.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I definitely like him, Lol! I was also leaning towards him being a male. Appearance wise, I think he is my favorite, but don't tell the others ;) And the pics were taken without a flash if that helps!

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Looks like a boy.
He is much brighter than my sky blue greywing opaline YF:

Maybe there is some variation in brightness for greywings. If he is very bright, he might be a clearwing, from what I've read they sometimes have faint grey wing markings.
I'm sure an expert will chime in soon with our answer. Nev, Barrie?

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
I think you are right.

But I dont think he's a clearwing, cause from what I recently
learnt in my rainbow posts, their wings are very dull & light and
their body is bright. And im not sure he's suppose to have the patch
under his head between his wings if he's a clearwing. Maybe greywing?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Wow, he does look a lot like that bird. I hope that Nev will throw his 2 cents in! He is such a pro at this mutation stuff ;)

·
Member of the Month January 2009
3,676 Posts