Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I'm new here, I found TalkBudgies while trying to find information about my budgies mutations.
I'm a newbie with budgies, I've only had budgies for about a year and a half now, and I mostly have them as pets (I tame mine and let them free fly around the house).

I was sold two "rainbow" budgies and while I'm not sure if they are actually rainbows, I'd like to know if they could possibly get a few rainbows if bred together when they're older.
Also if not rainbows, what are the mutations?
They have very soft yellow heads and soft yellow in their wings.

Any thoughts?

Female:

Male:

Both:

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
18,303 Posts
Hi there!
They actually ARE both rainbow budgies! They may look slightly less greenish than a sky blue rainbow when they're older, especially the violet one, since they are both cobalt and the at least the female is at minimum single factor violet.

Are you sure they're not related? They look like siblings. Additionally, before the time comes when you want to breed them, it's extremely important to do lots of research as well as have a good avian vet you've connected with ~ this is not something to be taken lightly!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi there!
They actually ARE both rainbow budgies! They may look slightly less greenish than a sky blue rainbow when they're older, especially the violet one, since they are both cobalt and the at least the female is at minimum single factor violet.

Are you sure they're not related? They look like siblings. Additionally, before the time comes when you want to breed them, it's extremely important to do lots of research as well as have a good avian vet you've connected with ~ this is not something to be taken lightly!
Thank you so very much for the reply!