Talk Budgies Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Nice to meet everyone. I recently, July, got 4 budgies. I'm so happy to have found this site and wealth of information!

·
Super Moderator
3,850 Posts
Hi, welcome to the forum. Would love to see picture of your birds, what are their names? Is this your first time having birds?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, it's my first time. My only prior bird experience has been either rescuing birds (in my yard growing up, here in NYC after window impacts, or in college in a bird rescue team in Florida) was taking care of 2 separate African greys (my 2 bosses birds) for a week at a time. These are my daughter's birds and named Snowy Owl, Captain Budgie (preening middle), Blueberry (preening right) and Loch Ness (inside cage). I need better pictures!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes. I had hoped for 4 boys but Snowy Owl is a girl. I had also hoped for younger budgies but Captain Budgie is older. I moved quickly on the purchase then did research (had researched a couple of years ago). Not the best start but I'm learning as much as I can to make sure they're healthy and happy. Now, I'm getting a bit addicted, dreaming of a larger apartment my own aviary more and other birds haha. ;)

·
Super Moderator
3,850 Posts
Snowy Owl looks like a boy to me, the cere appears to be a solid pink color, can you post a frontal picture of Snowy Owl in natural light and we can confirm. In some color mutations the males cere will be pink and will stay pink for the birds entire life, it will not turn blue as in other mutations.

·
Super Moderator
18,454 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forums!

Cody has given you excellent advice! I agree that Snowy Owl looks like a boy ;) More photos would be great!