Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi I have a female budgie one year old and want to find out her genetics. As far as i have been able to find out she may be a violet spangle opaline or violet clearflight opaline. Does that make any sense is this a possible budgie type? also if she is either can she be bread with a yellowface type to to eventually create rainbow. thanx im new at this dont really understand genetics

·
Registered
7,173 Posts
Both mutations are possible :)
A picture would help in confirming her mutation so we can tell you the outcomes for sure.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I don t know very much,but i think rainbow it s an blue opaline clearwing or graywing with yellow face mutation,I m not sure there is spangle in the rainbow color,?someone else will help you sure

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
both those variety mixes are possible, and should look lovely!

a rainbow is a blue yellow face type 2 opaline clearwing. you would get a similar effect with a blue yf2 opaline spangle, it would look just as nice in my opinion but would not be what they call a rainbow. if you bred her with a yellow face then you could get that mix.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
these are my budgies, comet and bleach. bleach seems kind of blue in the pic but really she is more violet. The body color is mottled throughout the wings, but the flight feathers and also main tail feathers are all white, no violet or gray. Does anyone know what the genetics of her are. Also im pretty sure comet(the green one) is a green yellowface type two can anyone help me identify them please?

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
hi there,

i think comet is a cobalt yellow face 2... rather than a green.

bleach looks like a violet spangle opaline.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
awesome thanks now could anyone tell me what their offspring might look like they are in love.

·