Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone, I am new to the budgie world. I had to adopt these 4 budgies since the owner couldn’t care for them anymore.I was told they are young but I have no idea about the gender. Could you give me some guidance. I will really appreciate it
Thanks

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
6,011 Posts
They are all beautiful. It looks like there are 3 males and one female. The female is the black, white and grey bird in the first and last picture. The youngest bird appears to be the one with the blue chest as I can still see the baby bars on his head and also faintly on the yellow bird and the female. The beautiful grey and white male in the third picture appears to be the oldest as his cere has turned the typical blue color that a male in most mutations develops, however I cannot see if he has developed an iris in his eye yet. Once they go through their first molt and lose the baby bars, which is around 3-4 months and develop the iris in the eye around 9 months, there is no way to tell the age of the bird. The prior owner must not have had the birds very long since they are young birds. As they mature you may run into some issues housing one female with 3 males, how large is the cage they are in? It is very important they you have an avian vet, are you in the Chicagoland area, if so I can suggest several for you to choose from. Avian vets are not common, so you need to have a vet that deals with birds on a regular basis, should you need a vet you do not want to be fumbling around looking for one in an emergency. Here are a few links for you to read,

·
Administrator
60,625 Posts
Cody is 100% correct with regard to their genders. Only the last picture with the white pied budgie is a female.

The purpose of this forum is to promote the BEST PRACTICES in the care of budgies for their optimal Health and Well-Being.

Locating an Avian Vet