Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of my spangle babies is a mauve. It is also possible that it can be a mauve violet, but how can one identify it? I don't have much knowledge of the colour mauve. If someone can tell me how to distiguish between mauve and mauve with violet I will be happy. Thanks.

·
Registered
12 Posts
well if that is one of the parents , in the pic i would say its mauve but what color is its mate , then you will have a better chance of knowing , i had what i thought were two mauve chicks , but one stayed mauve the other darkened more violet . :)

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, the bird in my avatar isn't one of the parents - it is a grey BTW. The parents are a YF(2) cobalt spangle (****) and the hen is an Opaline violet.

·
Registered
1,614 Posts
Good luck Dries wish i could help im still learning my mutations getting better tho hehe.

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
A bird can be mauve violet but it is often difficult to see the violet.
So the best way - and maybe the only way - is to breed him/her to a bird that doesn't have the violet factor. If there's a violet baby, he/she is carrying the violet gene. Correct?

Good luck Dries wish i could help im still learning my mutations getting better tho hehe.
Thanks. Yes, there's so much to learn, but I'm sure we will get there!

·
DEACTIVATED ACCOUNT
16,073 Posts
I've noticed with Mauve's w/ Violet factor you can tell sometimes it takes the light to hit just right but it'll give off a Violet iridescent color Vs. the normal Blueish grey color of Mauve's w/out Violet

Also when I breed a budgie w/violet factor to a budgie w/out Violet Factor usually every single one of the babies has the violet factor -Violet factor is Semi Dominant.

·
DEACTIVATED ACCOUNT
16,073 Posts
Your welcome