Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Born2Bfree, bred2Bcaptive
2,887 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are their colors?

Charlie (has pale grey wing markings) - is he opaline greywing cobalt?

Birdie Baby - has overal cream/yellowish hue

Koko - is he dominant pied opaline sky blue?

Thank you.

·
Registered
7,174 Posts
Hi Nika,
I'll give it a shot, but I'm not an expert so they may not all be right :p
Charlie- skyblue opaline spangle
Birdie Baby- yellow face type II sky blue recessive pied spangle
Koko- I agree that he is sky blue dominant pied, but I can't see opaline from the picture since I can't see the back.
Let's see what the experts have to say!

·
Member of the Month March 2011
19,551 Posts
Hello Nika!

I think they are..
Charlie is a cobalt opaline full body color grey wing, since he is so brightly colored and normal greywings usualy are diluted some.

Birdie baby is a sky blue yellow face type 2 recessive pied. With the yellow face type 2 The yellow spreds all over they body to make her have that pretty yellow to her.

And Kiko is a skyblue opaline domanant pied like you said I think, you can see the lighter barring on his head and neck which makes him opaline =)

All very pretty!

I dont see spangle in any of them though, spangles have reverse wing markings yours just look like normals with opaline mixed in =)

·
Member of the Month January 2009
3,676 Posts
I think that Charlie is opaline violet sky blue. Although his wing markings are lighter than the usual I don't think they are light enough for a greywing and his tail looks quite dark. The shade of blue is not dark enough for a cobalt. Violet sky blues are often mistaken for cobalts

Birdie Baby is a Type 2 yellow face opaline sky blue recessive pied. I breed a lot like this, I think that adding opaline to a recessive pied makes them much more attractive

Koko is opaline dominant pied sky blue like you said

·
2,887 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you very much :)