Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Exceptional Service Award Recipient
21,787 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, 3 months ago I got a blue masked lovebird and I recently added a new one in the cage, a beautiful fischer's lovebird and they get along great.
I would like to know if there are any differences that can tell a male from a female, like in terms of singing or other behaviour. I know the sure way is to have a DNA test or to compare the size of their bones, but I'm not experienced enough for that.
Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

·
Member of the Month September 2011
7,747 Posts
I have no clue on lovebirds but here is some information I found:

1. A female lovebird perches with its legs wider than a male lovebird. Although some says that they do see a male lovebird perching wider than a female lovebird. In this case, how I wish I can show the picture of my female lovebird to show exactly how wide my female lovebird is actually perching.

2. Any lovebird that lays eggs, it is a guarantee that the lovebird is a female.

3. By feeling their pelvic bone but only unless you are very experienced. I will suggest to not try this method. Because, both the male and female lovebird pelvic bone will feel the same to you if aren't experience enough.

4. Get a short nail, tie its head to a thread, hold the lovebird upside down and
hang the tip of the nail near the part where it poop while you hold on the end
of the thread. It should look like you are somewhat holding a pendulum above the lovebird. Make sure the nail is not swinging about. Wait for a few seconds, if the nail start swinging in circles, the lovebird is a male. However, if the nail
start swinging from left to right and right to left, you have got a male!

5. Last but not least, the most guaranteed way. A DNA test.