Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All,

Wanted to say Hi and Happy Mother's Day to all the mother's out there. I recently bought a pair of parakeets and just trying to figure out their mutations. I found out my yellow is a recessive pied, possibly a female, but any guesses on my white baby? The shop where I got them from had just got these babies in, so I know they are very young.

Anyway, I'm not new to birds, I keep and raise Gouldian Finches and had parakeets over the years, it's been a while though. I'm just reading up on all the colors and mutations and I find it so interesting.

Thanks for any help

I just love them already :)

Rena

·
Registered
750 Posts
Awee, they are so cutee! They are young indeed!
I'm not good with mutations but I'm sure someone who is experienced will come along and give you that information:)

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aren't they :) They puff their head feathers up a lot, makes them look so cute. The white one reminds me of a cotton ball, lol ! I bought the yellow first and then went back for the another. Sigh.. Couldn't resist.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Your new budgies are just adorable!! My guess is that the white one is a male, but I am no pro at sexing budgies - even though it is over a year since I got my first one, the learning curve is a long one when it comes to these wonderful little creatures. Happy Mother's Day to you too, from a granny in Canada.

·
Eternal Love
11,537 Posts
Welcome to the flock !
The mutations are...

sky blue Double factor ( DF ) dominant pied ( looks to be male )

and the green is

light green recessive pied (female)

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·