Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
I thought I would join this forum as I am now an owner of two lovely budgies called Smuggler and Treasure! I think the wealth of information on the forum will really help with caring for them!

I have been lucky enough to spend time with them since they were only weeks old, as my Dad's budgies had chicks in October last year (Smuggs hatched on my Birthday!). So although I am a newbie to owning budgies, I have had experience of caring for them and spending time with them in the past. Plus I have my Dad, step mum and sister who can provide me with information on caring for them should I need it, so Smuggler and Treasure are in very safe hands.

Both budgies are hand tamed, and have been handled from a very young age, but are quite nervous at the moment due to being in a new environment. They haven't chirped unless I've had music on either. I only got them yesterday so this is understandable. Although it's strange to see them so quiet as they were both the mischievous ones when they were with their siblings! I'm sure they will return to their mischievous ways once they have settled!

Two queries I do have at the moment:

I have them in a cage that I bought a few weeks ago, which I took to my Dad's so that they could adjust to it (although they have been in a few different cages already at my Dad's and adjusted well to each). However, when I saw them in it yesterday I realised that the cage has vertical bars which they can't climb, and these two LOVE to climb! So I've had to order another cage which is arriving tomorrow. I will obviously put all their toys, food bowls etc in the new cage to help them adjust, but is switching cages again likely to stress them out? As they're still adjusting to being away from the other budgies? Should I wait or put them in it as soon as possible?