Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got word from my breeder that my little English budgie, Kimchi, is weaned and should be good to come home on Saturday! I am beyond excited... so I want to make sure I have everything in place. Do you see anything wrong with my cage layout, or anything you would change? I have tried to keep the perches from sitting on top of food bowls, and have left a big open area in the front with two perches positioned for flying space. Is it too full?

The little white cage is for the long drive home-- and if he seems anxious I might let him stay in there for a bit until he is more at ease. Then there is just a playgym (collapsible, as I live in a 575 square ft studio in Chicago.)

Thanks in advance! I haven't cared for a budgie since high school. I am super excited and super nervous.

·
Member of the Month January 2016
4,995 Posts
I'm not an expert but Kimchi's cage and play area looks good to me. I think maybe the ends of the rope- the tassles might be a problem as they can chew on them.

I got some rope perches for my birds cages and Jay was pulling them apart straight away. I instead moved them outside the cage to use on Jimmy's big cage for if/when they come out, so they aren't able to chew on them and they're more for climbing up to the top of the cage on..

You said about the perches not being over the food pots but it kinda looks like they are over them, but I'm going to assume it's just the way it looks as it's hard to tell the depth from the picture. :)

I think it looks great otherwise and I'm sure he'll love his cage. :)

·
Super Moderator
3,143 Posts
How exciting, the cage looks fine. The one thing I will say is that it looks like there is an air conditioner to the left of the cage as you are looking at the picture. If that is the case make sure that at no time is there cold air blowing directly on the cage or the bird.

·