Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, I've never used this forum before but I'm hoping to get some advice. Our male budgie seems to be under the weather and I'm fearing the worst.
He's usually very sprightly, naughty even! He flies everywhere, lands on our heads etc but he's been very listless for the past few days.
Instead of jumping all over the place in his cage, he's just sitting in the bottom of the cage all the time, sleeping almost constantly.
His flying ability is usually fantastic but he's now flying very low, and only very short distances. When his companion is in the cage too, he sits pressed against her as if he's squashing her.
He seems to be puffed up and ruffled all the time too - and almost seems slightly floppy when he sits in my hand.
Does anyone have any idea what it could be and if we can help him?
Thanks in advance.

·
Member of the Month January 2015
402 Posts
I'm sorry to alarm you, but your budgie sounds very unwell. These are all signs of illness, and since budgies are so good at hiding when they're feeling poorly, for him to be showing this clearly he's probably quite a ways along.

Others may chime in with palliative care, but it's very important that you get your budgie to an avian vet ASAP. If you do not already have an avian vet, this link includes some helpful links so you can find one. Additionally, if you let us know where you live (roughly), there may be a nearby forum member who could recommend one.

http://talkbudgies.com/general-budgie-talk/251722-do-you-have-avian-vet.html

I'm sorry your introduction here is so fraught. Wishing all the best for you and your boy - he sounds like a delightful little bird!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your quick reply Cheese...