Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am probably getting ahead of myself here, seeing as my pair hasn't even laid any eggs yet, but I wanted to post this anyway. :rolleyes: Last year for a school project, I studied budgie genetics. Thought it might be fun to see what I might have when/if Keiko and Azusa have their own chicks. :) I also wanted to make sure I was calculating everything right.

Here's my pair:

Keiko (male):
Green and Yellow
Dominant Pied
Opaline
Split to Slate? (Two of his full sisters were slate greys)

Azusa (female):
Standard Blue
I have no idea what she might be split to!

(Sorry she looks a bit rough in this picture--it was taken during one of her last molts).

If I have done my research correctly, I can expect their chicks to be:
-50% Green and yellow
-50% Blue
-50% Dominant Pied
-50% Normal Solid Color
-All opaline chicks would be female (unless Azusa is split to opaline, if that is possible?)

Am I missing anything? How does the split to slate work? Would a slate baby be genetically impossible with my pair?

·
DEACTIVATED ACCOUNT
16,073 Posts
Can't be split to slate slate is a color adding factor like Grey and violet are

are you sure his siblings were slate? Slate is very rare
They were most likely Mauve which looks a lot like slate

If his siblings were Either Mauve or Slate that means they're blue series - meaning he's split to blue

his actual mutation is Green Opaline Dominant pied
don't have to call him Green & Yellow - all green Budgies are Green and yellow :)

So you'd get Green ,Blue part being pied none split to pied - dominant pied is unable to be given as a split

your female can not be split to Opaline - it is sex linked so either a female is Opaline or it is not Opaline - she's not there for all Opaline chicks are female

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Male opaline, dominant pied, light green/ for blue x Female normal sky blue