Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In several pictures of other peoples budgies I've noticed that the their feet are kind of gray, or purply/gray.

From what I understand Jazz is a Sky Blue Graywing.. yes?

View of his back...

Okay, so here is the total newbie question.... What is it that makes his feet pink? .....well not pink PINK but flesh pink...

I find it frustrating how the camera makes his soft baby blue seem more 'teal' in colour.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I've no idea but both my dark-eyed clears have fleshy pink feet just like Jazz's, as does my other budgie who has very similar in markings to Jazz only his wings are brown. (Cinnamon?)

I noticed a lot of budgies have blueish grayish feet, which surprised me.

·
Member of the Month
7,575 Posts
I'm sure his feet colour is ok:) Finnigan's feet look like that too, nothing to worry about.

I hate trying to catch budgies true colours, really annoying!

·
Registered
7,173 Posts
his feet are normal for his mutation. The colours of the feet is usually variable :)
Recessive pieds and dark eyed clears usually have really pink and fleshy feet which you can easily point out from normal feet :)
Jazz is a beauty!!! i want him :)

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
:) Brandon, I'm not worried about the colour of his feet... just curious as to why some budgies have gray/blueish/purplish feet and some have 'pink' feet.

Bethany, me too, and that's why I asked :)

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thank you Zeena :) :) (nuh-uh, he's mine :p )

So feet colour are a mutation trait ... I'm still having a hard time wrapping my little brain around all the what makes what and why's for the mutations LOL Learning about koi mutations/genetics was like a walk in the park compared to my learning about budgies!

·
Member of the Month
7,575 Posts