Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total newbie with no knowledge of genetics beyond what I've read on some of the budgie websites. My pair is raising their first clutch. The first one is 10 days old. 3 of the 4 chicks have red eyes. (while only the first 2 have their eyes open, the youngest 2 clearly do not have the obvious dark eyes showing through the skin.)

Here are the parents.

Since I know that 3 of the chicks have red eyes, and I know that the hen doesn't have the ino gene based on her appearance, I can conclude that the father is XiX, correct?

So, my question is, will the red-eyed chicks definitely be lutino, since the father's yellow base is dominant? Or is there a chance that they could be albino if the **** is split for white base?

Also, I've read that some of the inos can have cinnamon wing markings? Can that only happen if the parents exhibit the cinnamon trait or can that be carried recessively by the parents and passed on?

And finally, can I conclude that my 3 inos are definitely female?

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
You are pretty much on the ball. The father could be split for ino, in which case any ino chicks can only be female. The chance of getting 3/4 chicks being ino is way out there because you would only 'expect' 1/4 babies to be an ino hen. The other possibility is that the **** is split for cinnamon these chicks are cinnamon hens with PLUM not RED eyes. Im pretty sure cinnamon chicks start with plum eyes that darken a bit by about 9 days old. If the eyes stay red you have ino's.

And lastly all chicks will be yellow base split for white, unless the father is already split for white in which case 50% chicks will be white based, and the other 50% will be yellow base split for white.

·
Member of the Month January 2009
3,676 Posts
You're right the **** bird must be split for ino