Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all :D

I bought a pair of Red rump parakeets last week . I hope there are members on here who know something about them . I'm quite new to these guys so any specific points not mentioned in general sources are more than welcome !

Regarding their genders ........
I automatically assumed they were a male and a female because of their colours. The male is a normal green and its pretty obvious he is one.
The other bird looks like a cinnamon with dull colouration hence my assumption of it being a female . But as I took a closer look , I saw a few red feathers on its rump . All sources online say that the red rump is only observed in the males .
Is it possible for females to have some slight reddishness when affected by a mutation ?

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
With the Cinnamon mutation there is no alteration to the rump colour of the male. Cinnamon Red Rumps are a brownish yellow in colour. Sounds like you have a juvenile male and an adult male.
Thank you ! :)

Would you know which mutations do alter rump colour. My bird is a yellowish-brownish colour with about 4-5 red feathers right next to the beginning of its wings on the back.

The reason I am convinced it is a female is because I have witnessed them mating multiple times since yesterday. The green male does a dance and feeds the yellow one. Do red-rumps bond with the same sex in the same way budgies and lovebirds do ?

I'm quite surprised with this behaviour since they've only been home for a week. Both birds are from different shops as well so its not like they were a bonded pair to begin with.

·
Member of the Month October 2008
6,908 Posts
If the red feathers are up on the back near the neck and wings then it is probably a Cinnamon Opaline Hen. I also believe that some breeders have noticed with some mutations hens have some red feathers on the rump area.

·
Registered
348 Posts