Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I have a few questions Im curious about:

1) Can English budgies have spangle wings?

2) How did they breed colour into budgies if
the wild ones are all green? :)

Thankss

·
Registered
10,220 Posts
I'm no expert, but this is what I think is right.

1. I don't see why you can't have spangles. If you breed an English with the 'normal' type who is a spangle, you'll get a part English spangle. As far as I know, the genes are totally unrelated, so I don't see why it should make a difference.

2. Some budgies in the wild do have the different mutations, but they generally don't survive as long (they don't camoflague as well). It's like you can get albino birds in the wild. People caught the budgies with the different mutations and bred them, so they increased in number, whereas in the wild they wouldn't have (natural selection means that the better camoflagued budgies would be more likely to live to an age where they could breed and pass on their genes).
New colours could come about if a gene mutates I think, but other than that you can't create any new colours.

That's my understanding of it anyway. Hope that helps and that I made sense.

Reactions: Teegzy

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
Try not to think of budgies as 'australian' and 'english' and 'american'. They are all the same bird. The 'english' is not a variety, its simply that england was the place where the exported australian birds were most heavily exposed to selective breeding and became larger in size, length, feather etc. They are still the same bird, but every generation was selectively culled so that only the chicks that were better than the last generation were kept.