Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section. I'm new to caring for budgies, didn't have budgies since my childhood, that's a long time ago. I would be thankful if you helped me with a situation. So, Here is the story:

First encounter:
Last week, I found a white/light blue budgie at my window, I tried to interact with it but then it flew strait into my room, it seemed weak, shy, tired and anxious, as if it's been on the run for a long time. It has no leg band, so I tried to contact neighbors and people in my area, but my search went nowhere. I took it to a bird shop and the guy told me it's a female, about 1 year old, and underweight. I bought a yellow male, so they can have each other's company If I'm not around, in addition to the largest cage available for them both, and got it set up with all amenities.

For some reason I don't trust everything the shop guy said, I research and learn everyday, but couldn't figure some things out, like sex and age. For example, the white/light blue budgie has a red eye, probably because of lack of melanin, I also can't tell what her cere color indicates cause she's somehow young.

I attached some detailed photos of both budgies, and would be grateful if you helped me get the following determined for both of them:
1- Sex
2- Age
3- Exact type/mutation name
4- Any additional comments regarding health/appearance

Life in the new home:
Let's assume that the shop guy is right for now, I'll refer to the white/light blue as she and the yellow as he.