Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Help with mutation and gender?

Hi all! I am new to this forum and would really love some help and opinions on my current clutch :) They are 5 weeks old

I have had a numerous amount of opinions on the pied baby, but would love to know what you guys think?
I am still learning about mutations, I really want to learn more :bml:

Here are my 2 babies ...

Here are the parents ...

·
Registered
778 Posts
Oops I didn't see baby #2 there! It's hard to tell without more pictures, but at the moment it's looking like a male dark eyed clear.

·
Super Moderator
18,016 Posts
They are beautiful!

Baby 1 looks like a cobalt cinnamon single factor dominant pied. Do you have more photos of him taken in natural light? For some reason it almost looks like he's got two shades of blue on his belly.

Baby 2 I can't see his wings well enough to comment on his full mutation but I think maybe he is spangle greywing (?) cobalt. More photos of him would be helpful too. He is also male ;)

Mum is a sky blue opaline budgie, making all the boys split for opaline, and dad is a cobalt spangle budgie.

They are beautiful!

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
Hey there, two points...neither parent is a pied, and neither is cinnamon.

I have some thoughts on these babies, but am interested in other views as I think they are unusual.

·
Administrator
55,336 Posts
Hi! :welcome: to Talk Budgies

StarlingWings and tonic (budgie mutation experts) will work out the matter of the mutations between them.
I'll just say that I think your flock is beautiful! :happy4:

Please take the time to read through the Site Guidelines, all of the How To Guides, the FAQs, the Budgie Articles and the stickies located at the top of each section of the forum.