Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Two of our budgies have hatched an egg and it is just adorable. Just wanting a prediction of what colour we can expect it to be?

Here is the mother:

Here is the father:

Here they are together:

We do not have any idea what the dad's parents were, but here is a picture of the mother's parents:

So if somebody could please let us know what you think the baby might be, it would be appreciated! We are very very excited :) Here is a picture of the little baby :) :

·
Registered
850 Posts
Well i am no expert but its an eng/usa mix. So it will be a med size green with lots of pied marks.

·
Member of the Month April 2011
5,435 Posts
I'm not a mutations expert, but I'll give this a shot until Nev comes along.

The hen is opaline olive and the **** bird is recessive pied light green.

All the male chicks will be normal dark green split for opaline and all the female chicks will be normal dark green. See http://www.***************/gen_opaline.html for opaline genetics and http://www.***************/gen_darkfactor.html for dark factor genetics.

Your only chance for blue chicks is if both hen and **** bird are split for blue.

Your only chance for recessive pied chicks is if the hen is split for recessive pied. I don't know how opaline and recessive pied react with each other.

Congratulations for your little pink cutie! :congrats: :baby: Have you candled the other eggs?

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
I think Susan is right woth her predictions, but the hen can be split for RP - although the chances are very slim. There's always a chance for surprises. Congrats on the first baby. Keep us updated, please.

·
Member of the Month April 2011
5,435 Posts