Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
He was sold to me as a frosted pied, but there is doubt as to what he is?

I thought maybe a normal skyblue split for recessive pied, but he has iris rings.

Can someone help?

NEW PHOTOS that may help???

Attachments

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have no experience with frosted pieds whatsoever, but just because he has iris rings doesnt mean he can't be split pied.
good to know, thank you.

·
Member of the Month January 2009
3,676 Posts
A frosted pied is a variation of a clearflight pied. He certainly isn't a normal

He doesn't quite match the description of a frosted pied but I think that's probably his mutation

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
A frosted pied is a variation of a clearflight pied. He certainly isn't a normal

He doesn't quite match the description of a frosted pied but I think that's probably his mutation
Ok thank you. I read somewhere and I lost the spot and forgot the info. But I want to know how to get a frosted is achieved? It sounded like 2 different pieds bred together and then the offsprings bred to another pied? Who would he best be paired with? And what kind of young would I expect?

·
3,676 Posts
Ok thank you. I read somewhere and I lost the spot and forgot the info. But I want to know how to get a frosted is achieved? It sounded like 2 different pieds bred together and then the offsprings bred to another pied? Who would he best be paired with? And what kind of young would I expect?
If that is his mutation it is dominant so you should get some by pairing him with a normal

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Wow what a beautiful bird. I knew there where single and double factor spangles not I find out their are more types... It looks like a spangle opaline kind of but then again not really. It will be interesting to see what nev has to say about this one.

·