Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello:

I'm very new to budgie parenting and I have no clue what my little guy is... can some one help me identify his mutation? I'd be very greatful.

I realize they aren't the clearest pics, but are they helpful?

·
Registered
76 Posts
your baby is a yellowface Yellowface
Yellowface budgies are in between yellow-based budgies and white-based budgies. There are different degrees of the level of yellow pigment, less than the yellow-based variety. These different levels of yellow pigment are caused by several different genes. Visually, there are two types of yellow face: and . yellowface budgies, the mask feathers are all yellow. The yellow may also show up in the peripheral tail feathers. The yellow is confined to these areas only and the budgie is normally colored in the body feathers. yellowface budgies have yellow in the mask feathers and tail, . However, after the first molt at 3 months of age, the yellow diffuses into the body color and creates a new color, depending on the original color. In the case of the sky blue variety, yellowface creates a seafoam green color, but yellowface the body color remains sky blue.

·
Registered
458 Posts
Actually, I'd say he is a Dark Green normal. Not Yellowface, as he is fully green and has not even moulted for the first time yet. (that is when a blue bird with a yellow face turns almost all green)

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Actually, I'd say he is a Dark Green normal. Not Yellowface, as he is fully green and has not even moulted for the first time yet. (that is when a blue bird with a yellow face turns almost all green)