Talk Budgies Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
709 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'd like to let my two budgies breed, but I'd like a good idea of the types of mutations that I might get =).

As far as I can tell, Orion is a dark green spangled hen (2.5yrs old) and Lorcan is a sky blue (edit: dominant) pied male (2yrs old).

Orion's dad Hercules was a traditional dark green, and her mom Melrose was a traditional blue/white. Her older brother from the same clutch was a yellow face type II, sky blue dominant pied.

I have no information on Lorcan's genetics.

These pictures were taken with my cell so sorry for the quality.

Orion:

Lorcan:

Lorcan was about a year old here. His irises turned white as he got older.

Anyone have a clue on what these two little trouble makers would bring into the world? :D

·
Registered
2,166 Posts
well, I'm not good at the mutations. but I think they would make beautiful chicks together!!!

G

·
As far as I can tell, Orion is a dark green spangled hen (2.5yrs old) and Lorcan is a sky blue recessive pied male (2yrs old).
Orion looks like a olive green spangle by the colour of her cheek patches (silvery white). Lorcan is not a recessive pied by his body colour, probably some other mutations, maybe dominant pied. Can you post more pictures of Lorcan to confirm his mutation ?

·
Registered
709 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)

I double checked my research and he's dominant pied *face palm*. Got the two confused.

White belly stripe, white patch on the back of his head, clear band above his flight feathers, and the bright irises.

G

·
He's got the markings of a recessive pied from what my research said. A white stripe across his lower belly, a white patch on the back of his head, clear white flight feathers, and white irises that are usually noticeable but refuse to show up in any pictures.

He just won't hold still for the camera.