Talk Budgies Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Member of the Month January 2013
4,870 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would the outcomes be if Greyhawk (m) was mated with Chiffon (f)
And if Greyhawk(m) was mated with Ethyl(f)?
Greyhawk(sky blue spangle)

Chiffon(YF2 Albino)

Ethyl(Sky blue greywing)

Ethyl's 2nd from left.

Thank you rick

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
I'm going to try, but just remember I'm no expert.
When you pair a sky blue Spangle to a skyblue greywing you can expect all skyblues - some will be spangles. You will not get any greywings unless the spangle is split for greywing.
The pairing to the YF albino is difficult, because you don't know which colours are being masked, but you will get blue birds and some will be spangles and some yellow faces.
Surprises can be waiting , because you don't know what they are split for.

·
Member of the Month January 2009
3,676 Posts
Dries has got it right

Sky blue spangle male to yellow face albino female
Without knowing the dark factor of the albino or what mutations she is masking or what mutations either of the birds are split for we can't be sure about the outcome. If there are no other factors involved the outcome would be:
25% spangle blue
25% yellow face spangle blue
25% normal blue
25% yellow face blue

Sky blue spangle male to sky blue greywing female.
Assuming no splits:
50% sky blue spangle
50% sky blue normal

I'm sure you realize that the birds are far too young to breed at the moment

·
4,870 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes I know they are too young. I am just trying to figure out the genetic thing. Thank you for your responses. On the sky blue greywing I can find out the parents for about 4 generations or so back, on the spangle and albino I dont know.

How many generations back do hidden factors factor in?

Thanks again , Rick

·
Registered
2,921 Posts