Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Member of the Month March 2011
19,551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I have a what has been decided as a yellow faced type 2 albino hen, and a yellow face type 2 domanant pied sky blue **** (thanks to all of your help for figuring out what they were!) Does anyone know what I can expect for the babies if I decide to pair these 2? Or any other suggestions on what I should pair them with if not eachother ?

Thanks!!!

·
Registered
7,173 Posts
I'm not a genetics expert, but I assure you one of our genetics experts (be it Nev or Dean) browse through this section and will help you out if they see it :)

G

·
Hello all!

I have a what has been decided as a yellow faced type 2 albino hen, and a yellow face type 2 domanant pied sky blue **** (thanks to all of your help for figuring out what they were!) Does anyone know what I can expect for the babies if I decide to pair these 2? Or any other suggestions on what I should pair them with if not eachother ?

Thanks!!!
Just trying to help before experts come along.

Creamino hen X YF2 skyblue dominant pied ****

Offsprings :

1. 25% YF2 skyblue dominant pied hen
2. 25% YF2 skyblue dominant pied **** split for ino
3. 25% YF2 normal skyblue hen
4. 25% YF2 normal skyblue **** split for ino

I would recommend a Lutino **** to mate with your creamino to get 100% Lutino chicks. Then your 2nd generations will have full of inos to mate with the normal coloured budgies.

·
Registered
93 Posts
a YF type 2 albino hen, and
a YF type 2 domanant pied sky blue ****

as Jimm-V has said, albino is a sex-linked mutation, therefore if the **** is not split for albino, then you would not get any visible albinos, but half of the males will be split for albino.

and as both birds are yellow face type 2, 25% of the chicks will get double factor yellowface. double factor yellow face has a white mask similar to a bird with no yellow face gene.